Rushymeade - a Place to Unwind

Rushymeade

Enjoy this lovely, peaceful area of Bedfordshire with wonderful views of the Barton Hills. An ideal place to relax and unwind.

How To Get There By Passenger Transport

BY BUS: Telephone Bedfordshire Bus Information Line : 01234 228337, 8.30am – 5pm open 5 days a week or Travel Line 0870 6082608.
BY TRAIN: For timetable information, please telephone National Rail Enquiries 08457 484950.
Click here for the National Rail Enquiries website

How To Get There By Car

Pulloxhill is between Flitwick and Barton-le-Clay. Flitwick is on the A5120 between Ampthill and Junction 12 of the M1. Barton-le-Clay is on the A6, 10 miles north-west of Luton.
On road parking is available in the village. Please park thoughtfully.

Access and General Information

Pending Update

About Rushymeade and the surrounding countryside

Rushymeade

16½ acres of County Wildlife Site which was bought for the village by the Parish Council with grants from Mid Beds Council and EBBeds, in November 2000. This amazing stretch of grassland contains one of Bedfordshire's best land slips as well as a huge variety of wild flowers, grasses, trees, animals, birds and insects. It is a constant source of joy and fascination for many conservationists. Although several footpaths run across the land, it is open for the public to explore and possibly discover The Lost Pond and the toboggan runs before resting on the seat by The Hollow and enjoying the view.

Close by is Gold Close, the site of possibly the only English gold mine. Discovered in 1680, it was seized by Charles II, since by ancient law all gold found in the United Kingdom is the property of the crown. It was leased to a firm of refiners but unfortunately proved to be no more than a few flakes of mica in drifted stones, still often found in local gardens. The operation was abandoned but the area, a field containing a fishing pond just off Flitton Road, is still known as Gold Close.

A short walk away from Rushymeade is Upbury. The Manor was part of the Estate of Dunstable Priory taken over by Henry VIII in 1537 and was the property of Henry Grey in 1563. Sir William Bryers inherited Upbury from his first wife, Anne Ducket in 1631 and two years later married Arabella Crofts. He died in 1653 at the great age of 84. Arabella died in 1662 and it was she who erected the ornate marble memorial to Sir William that can now be seen in St James’ Church. The Palmer family lived at Upbury as late as 1841 and although the Wrest Park estate sold its Pulloxhill properties to local farmers in the 1920s, the copyright of all documents relating to Upbury remains with Lord Lucas. Very little is visible now because the Duke of Kent had the Manor dismantled and moved to an unknown location but you can make out the moat and the fish ponds, where the stock of fish was kept fresh and available for the table.

Acknowledgements

Research by Zena Grant Collier and Sue Young. Photography by John Hedger and Sarah Wroot. P3 is a scheme working with local people to enhance the local countryside for wider community use and enjoyment. P3 works to improve and promote the public rights of way network and is funded by Bedfordshire County Council, Mid Bedfordshire District Council and South Bedfordshire District Council.