Turvey is right up against the border with Buckinghamshire west of Bedford. Turvey is a most attractive village consisting largely of picturesque stone houses rebuilt or modified in the early 1800s. It is a popular angling centre on the River Ouse and two statues, standing on an island in the river by the bridge, known as Jonah and his wife, are well known local landmarks. The bridge itself consists of 16 arches, the oldest parts dating from the Middle Ages but with extensive rebuilding in the 18th and 19th centuries. The church has an Anglo-Danish tower, superb 13th century iron scrollwork on the south door, an early 14th century wall painting and ornate work by Sir Gilbert Scott in the chancel. Turvey Abbey is a Jacobean house with balustrades and pinnacles now occupied by Benedictine monks and nuns. Turvey House, which can be seen across parkland when approaching from the Northampton road, was built in 1794 and has an imposing frontage to the river.